English / 正體中文
Research Fellows/ProfessorsResearch ScientistsResident and Visiting ScholarsPostdoctoral FellowsAdvisory CommitteeJoint Appointment/ Adjunct/ Corresponding Research FellowsResearch AssistantsAdministrative StaffTIGP StudentsRetired Research FellowsIES Alumni
Lee, Lou-Chuang

李羅權 Lee, Lou-Chuang

Nobel-caliber Distinguished Visiting Chair (Academician)
Research Fields:Space Physics

Research interest

Professor Lou-Chuang Lee was born on April 20, 1947. He received a B.S. degree in physics from National Taiwan University in 1969, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in physics from the California Institute of Technology in 1972 and 1975, respectively. He specializes in space science and plasma physics. From 1975 to 1995, he performed advanced research at the NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center and served as a professor at the University of Maryland and University of Alaska. Upon returning to Taiwan in 1995, Prof. Lee joined the faculty of Department of Physics at the National Cheng Kung University, and also served as the Dean of the College of Science. He was appointed the chief scientist at National Space Program Office in 1997, and made director of National Space Program Office in 2001. Since that time he has led the science and engineering teams implementing the FORMOSAT-2 and FORMOSAT-3 programs. He became the first President of the National Applied Research Laboratories in 2003 and the President of National Central University in 2006. In 2008, he was appointed as the Minister of National Science Council. He was a distinguished research fellow of Institute of Earth Sciences, Academia Sinica from 2012 to 2017. He is currently a Distinguished Visiting Chair of Academia Sinica.

Prof. Lee is a well-known space physicist. He has published more than 300 scientific papers as well as three academic monographs. During his career, Prof. Lee developed several new theories to explain observed space phenomena. His major research achievements include: (a) the turbulence spectrum of interstellar medium, (b) the cyclotron maser theory for the generation of auroral kilometric radiation, (c) the multiple X-line reconnection model for magnetic flux transfer events, (d) the formation mechanism of solar prominences, (e) a new mechanism for solar coronal heating, and (f) the discovery of "gigantic jets" in the Earth's upper atmosphere.

Prof. Lee has received many international as well as national awards, including the Toray Science Foundation Fellow, the Terris Moore Award in space physics, the Outstanding Faculty Performance Award, the Fullbright Scholar Award, the Emil Usibelli Distinguished Research Award, the Foundation for the Advancement of Outstanding Scholarship Award, the Ministry of Education's Outstanding Academic Award, the Presidential Science Prize (The highest honor in science in Taiwan), Subramanyan Chandrasekhar Prize of Plasma Physics(AAPPS, 2017), Academician of Academia Sinica, elected member of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), elected member of International Academy of Astronautics (IAA), elected member of International Academy of Engineering, Russian Academy of Engineering (IAE), and elected foreign member of the US National Academy of Engineering (NAE), 2018.
+ More +