Talks at IES

Speaker: Dr. Justin Yen-Ting Ko(Assistant Professor, Institute of Oceanography, NTU)
Date: 10/19 (Fri) 14:30
Title: Imaging lower mantle heterogeneities by asymptotic waveform inversion
[Recent talks at IES]

 Updated News 

In celebration of the 90th anniversary of Academia Sinica, Frontiers of Sciences and Humanities Seminar Series -- "Earth Sciences in Next Decades: Challenges and New Horizons" workshop will be held on Friday, November 2, in the auditorium of IES at the second floor.[Poster]

Tenure-track Faculty Positions Recruitment (deadline: Oct.31, 2018)

IES Associate Research Fellow Wen-Pin Hsieh is awarded 2018 Innovation Award for Junior Scholars by Foundation for the Advancement of Outstanding Scholarship.


Research Article of IES postdoc Yi-Wei Liu Published in Nature Communication

Dr. Yi-Wei Liu and her international research team first apply boron isotopes, stable carbon and oxygen isotopes, and particulate inorganic carbon and particulate organic carbon content to investigate the impact from ocean acidification to coccolithophore species Ochrosphaera neapolitana. Their results suggest that this species will maintain a constant pH at the calcification site, regardless of CO2-induced changes in pH of the surrounding seawater. The algae utilize carbon from a single internal dissolved inorganic carbon (DIC) pool for both calcification and photosynthesis, and that a greater proportion of dissolved CO2 relative to HCO3− enters the internal DIC pool under acidified conditions. These two observations may explain how O. neapolitana continues calcifying and photosynthesizing at a constant rate under different atmospheric-pCO2 conditions. The research also help us better understand the mechanisms behind the highly varied calcification and growth responses from marine calcifying organisms to ocean acidification. Doi: 10.1038/s41467-018-04463-7.

[Article website]

IES Associate Research Fellow Wen-Pin Hsieh is awarded 2018 Academia Sinica Research Award for Junior Research Investigators.

This Award encourages junior researchers in Taiwan to publish papers of major contribution in their research fields. This Award is meant to enhance the research potential of young scholars within both Academia Sinica and other research institutions in Taiwan.


IES Research Fellow Dr. Cheng-Horng Lin Receives 2018 Geophysics Contribution Award from the Geophysical Society of R.O.C. (Taiwan)


IES Assistant Research Fellow Dr. Kwan-Nang Pang Receives 2018 MA Ting-Ying Young Scientist's Paper Award from the Geological Society of R.O.C. (Taiwan)


IES Assistant Research Fellow Dr. Kwan-Nang Pang Receives the 17th HOU Defeng Mineralogy, Petrology and Geochemistry Young Scientist Award from the Chinese Society of Mineralogy, Petrology and Geochemistry.

It is presented to young scientist in recognition of creative and outstanding research achievement in Mineralogy, Petrology and Geochemistry fields.[Details]

IES High-pressure Mineral Physics Laboratory Research Published in PNAS (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, USA)

Dr. Wen-Pin Hsieh of the IES high-pressure mineral physics laboratory has combined ultrafast optics with diamond cell techniques to measure the thermal conductivity of ferropericlase at high pressures. His team found that the thermal conductivity of iron-rich ferropericlase drops significantly across spin transition of iron, resulting in an enhanced iron substitution effect in the low-spin iron-rich ferropericlase. Combined with prior results and data modeling, they demonstrated that iron plays critical roles in affecting the thermal conductivity, thermo-chemical structures, cooling rate, and geodynamics in the lower mantle. These results further help better understand the thermal history of ultra-low velocity zones at the bottom of the mantle: if these regions are hot and enriched in iron, their exceptionally low thermal conductivity may delay their cooling and keep them substantially hotter than their surroundings. The international research team includes Drs. Wen-Pin Hsieh and Frédéric Deschamps of IES, Prof. Jung-Fu Lin of University of Texas at Austin, and Dr. Takuo Okuchi of Okayama University. [Article website]

IES Postdoctoral Fellows Yun-Yuan Chang and Ching-Chou Fu Receive 2018 Postdoctoral Research Paper Award from the Ministry of Science and Technology, R.O.C.


Academician Lou-Chuang Lee Elected as a Foreign Associate of the US National Academy of Engineering

Academician Lou-Chuang Lee was elected a Foreign Associate of the US National Academy of Engineering (NAE), the academy announced on February 7, 2018. Dr. Lee received the honor for his seminal contributions to space physics and technical leadership in the FORMOSAT/COSMIC program. [Details]

IES Director Academician Sun-Lin Chung was elected 2018 TWAS Fellow

The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) announced the election of three Academia Sinica Academicians among its 2018 list of 55 new TWAS Fellows on January 26 in Trieste, Italy. IES Director Academician Sun-Lin Chung was elected to the area of Astronomy, Space and Earth Sciences among only 5 new TWAS Fellows. Academician Chung has made significant contribution to our understanding of continental tectonics and magma generation based on his outstanding studies in High Asia (from Tibet to Iran) and neighboring regions. He has also received the TWAS Prize in Earth Sciences in 2014. [Details]

Colloquium of IESAS

Speaker Title Host



Dr. Justin Yen-Ting Ko

(Assistant Professor, Institute of Oceanography , NTU)

Imaging lower mantle heterogeneities by asymptotic waveform inversion Hsin-Hua Huang



Dr. Dylan Meyer

(Postdoctoral Fellow, IESAS)

Gas flow and hydrate formation in the hydrate stability zone Wen-Pin Hsieh



"Earth Sciences in Next Decades: Challenges and New Horizons" workshop
Sun-Lin Chung



Dr. Nguyen, Truong Tai

(Postdoctoral Fellow, IESAS)

Petrological, geochronological and geochemical study of late Cenozoic volcanic rocks from the Chugoku district, southwest Japan: Implications for the evolution of subduction zone and volcanic arc Kwan-Nang Pang